Leave a Comment 489 views

Let's stay in touch by becoming my friend on Facebook: Neil Meyers

It was almost five years ago while journaling some ideas one evening, I noticed a novel beginning to emerge on the screen of my mind and then onto the screen of my computer. At the time, I was simply illustrating an idea that came to me when the idea turned into an allegory, and then the allegory turned into someone's dream. It was ALIVE! 

Prior to that, I had no thought or intention of writing a novel. And now, as I complete the first book while editing the remaining titles in the series, I find a fifth impinging upon my mind, wishing to tell the full story of this adventure. As its scribe, it seems I can hardly do otherwise, if only to find out what happens next. 

The Backstory

To properly tell how the series came about, I will be releasing an ebook that explains the extraordinary events that inspired the series. It will be available at no charge on this site as soon as it's completed, hopefully in January. For now, I have posted the first of ten parts under the title 'How it Happened.'

This disclosure may seem a bit startling to some, while others may consider it an amusing fabrication of a madman. Be that as it may, I'm not sure I could have made this up or why I would want to. In fact, it seems more a case of where the reality is stranger than the fiction it created. To better understand the context of the circumstances, the reader may wish to first read the post on Dr Jan Merta. It was through him much of the inspiration came, even after his passing.   

Adventure, Fantasy, Philosophy, Spirituality and Romance

It's all there! It's hard to know how to categorize these narratives, and so I just call them fantasies with a message; in fact many messages on many levels. An engaging and surreal adventure that involves romance while exploring the mysterious Passage that leads beyond this earthly plane of existence. The novel is rather unique in that it contains hundreds of fascinating footnotes and quotes involving literature, physics and everything else you can imagine. You may read a sample of these posted in 'Quotes.'   

What Happens

The first book of the Elysium's Passage series, The Summit, involves a young British philosopher from London named James Philips, who has a near fatal fall while climbing towards the summit of a remote mountain in the Andes.

While his body remains in a coma, he awakens in an altered state of consciousness just before encountering two mysterious beings on the summit who have very different perspectives on the nature of reality. Before returning to his body in London a year later, he is challenged to re-examine his understanding of life’s meaning and purpose as find's himself with the love that has always eluded him. The significance of these and other events continue to astound and even shock him at times, far beyond anything he could have ever dreamed or believed.

Like Nothing Else You've Ever Read

That's possible a bit of an overstatement. But then, for some, maybe not. In fact, that's what one reviewer told me. Personally, I've never seen a book quite like this before, although I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing. It's certainly not what I intended. But then, I didn't intend anything.

Some early reviews have considered it to be a strange brew of Robert Prisig's Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Herman Hesse's Steppenwolf and Carlos Castaneda's Teachings of Don Juan. My first book's (premature) professional review compares its style and content to those of these three authors. See the post under 'Reviews.' Although there's plenty of deep discussion, there is also much action and humour throughout the series that may, hopefully, be considered entertaining. 

I trust you will join the ascent as we, in the words of C.S. Lewis, venture 'further up and further in' 'through the Passage.

Pending Publications in the Elysium Passage Series

I anticipate the first book, The Summit, will be available for purchase this March. At this point it is being prepared for printing. Except for the last novel, the other threhave been written but need more editing before publication.

The following titles in the Elysium's Passage series are projected to be released as follows: 

THE SUMMIT early 2018



THE ELIXIR fall 2019

THE RETURN sometime in 2020   


Who looks outside dreams; who looks inside awakens. Carl Jung 

        undefined   See more of my mountain pictures on the Photo postings.

Free online business startup bundle